Live Broadcast Set for 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT on NBCSN and Sportsnet 

NEW YORK / TORONTO (May 8, 2019) – Emmy Award-winning actor Kenan Thompson will host the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone on Wednesday, June 19, the National Hockey League announced today. The televised celebration of the League’s best regular-season performances will be broadcast live from the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas on NBCSN and Sportsnet in the U.S. and Canada, respectively, at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT. Tickets to the event are available for purchase at

Thompson currently is in his record 16th season as a cast member of NBC’s iconic “Saturday Night Live.” The actor, producer and comedian made his television debut in Nickelodeon’s all-kid sketch comedy series, “All That,” before starring in the wildly popular show’s spinoff, “Kenan and Kel,” in 1996. Thompson is familiar to hockey fans for his role in “D2: The Mighty Ducks” and “D3: The Mighty Ducks.” His other feature film credits include “Fat Albert,” “Good Burger” and “Heavyweights.”

“My first movie role was in ‘D2: The Mighty Ducks’ so my connection to hockey dates back to my childhood,” said Thompson. “I have a great deal of admiration for hockey players and the NHL, so I’m excited to be a part of the 2019 NHL Awards show and its celebration of the year’s best performances.”

This summer, Thompson will serve as the executive producer and judge alongside Chrissy Teigen, Jeff Foxworthy and host Amanda Seales on NBC’s comedy competition series “Bring The Funny.” Nickelodeon recently announced that Thompson also will executive produce the upcoming “All That” reboot.

“We are thrilled to have Kenan as the host of the 2019 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone,” said Steve Mayer, NHL Chief Content Officer & Executive Vice President. “Twenty-five years after making his big screen debut in a hockey movie, we are psyched that he will return to his roots to host this year’s event.”

The 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone will honor the best regular-season players in a wide range of categories, including most valuable player (Hart Trophy), outstanding goaltender (Vezina Trophy), outstanding defenseman (Norris Trophy) and outstanding rookie (Calder Trophy); the Ted Lindsay Award, which is presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA), also will be awarded.

NHL Network™, and NHL Social™ will provide comprehensive coverage of the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone as well as the red carpet arrivals. Fans can follow the festivities across the NHL’s social media channels via the official hashtag #NHLAwards.


NHL and the NHL Shield are registered trademarks and NHL Awards name and logo, NHL Network and NHL Social are trademarks of the National Hockey League. © NHL 2019. All Rights Reserved.


NHL: Nirva Milord | | 212-789-2123
Sunshine Sachs: | 212-691-2800

Note to Media: To apply for media accreditation for the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone, visit For red carpet arrivals accreditation, click here.