One of Strongest Fields Ever Playing at Next Week's Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire

Nine Hall of Famers Competing in Exceptional Field 

Biloxi, Miss.  – With nine World Golf Hall of Famers, six Masters Champions and 19 major championship winners overall, the 2015 Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire will again boast one of the strongest fields ever visiting the Mississippi Gulf Coast. 2014 champion Jeff Maggert will defend his title against some of the best players in the world, including 2013 champion Michael Allen and 2011 champion Tom Lehman.
In addition, 2012 champion Fred Couples is joined in the field by 2015 World Golf Hall of Fame inductee Mark O’Meara and fellow Hall of Fame members Hale Irwin, Tom Kite, Sandy Lyle, Colin Montgomerie, Larry Nelson, Nick Price and Curtis Strange.
The field, which features 26 of the Top 30 from last year’s Final Money List, includes sponsor exemptions Jim Gallagher, Jr., Ian Woosnam, Brian Henninger and Mike Goodes.
The final field is as follows:
Allen, Michael
Ames, Stephen
Andrade, Billy
Armour III, Tommy
Austin, Woody
Blake, Jay Don
Brooks, Mark
Browne, Olin
Bryant, Bart
Bryant, Brad
Calcavecchia, Mark
Chapman, Roger
Coceres, Jose
Cochran, Russ
Coston, Jeff
Couples, Fred
Dawson, Marco
Dunlap, Scott
Durant, Joe
Esposito, Frank
Faxon, Brad
Forsman, Dan
Frost, David
Gallagher, Jr., Jim
Gilder, Bob
Glasson, Bill
Goodes, Mike
Goydos, Paul
Haas, Jay
Hatalsky, Morris
Henke, Nolan
Henninger, Brian
Hoch, Scott
Huston, John
Irwin, Hale
Janzen, Lee
Jimenez, Miguel Angel
Kite, Tom
Lehman, Tom
Lowery, Steve
Lyle, Sandy
Maggert, Jeff
Mediate, Rocco
Mize, Larry
Montgomerie, Colin
Morgan, Gil
Nelson, Larry
O'Meara, Mark
Parnevik, Jesper
Pate, Steve
Pavin, Corey
Pernice Jr., Tom
Perry, Kenny
Price, Nick
Purtzer, Tom
Quigley, Dana
Roberts, Loren
Sauers, Gene
Short, Jr., Wes
Sindelar, Joey
Sluman, Jeff
Smith, Jerry
Spittle, Rod
Stadler, Craig
Strange, Curtis
Sutherland, Kevin
Sutton, Hal
Thorpe, Jim
Toledo, Esteban
Triplett, Kirk
Tway, Bob
Wadkins, Bobby
Waite, Grant
Waldorf, Duffy
Wiebe, Mark
Woosnam, Ian

The Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire will take place March 27-29 at MGM Resorts International’s award-winning Fallen Oak in Biloxi. A field of 81 will play for a total purse of $1.6 million and a $240,000 first place share. Tickets are $15 and are on sale now. They can be purchased online at or by calling the tournament office at (228) 896-6365. Children 16 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

About the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire
In addition to C Spire as the tournament’s Presenting Sponsor, The Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic Presented by C Spire is uniquely funded by 12-14 other consortium partners, who see this event as an ideal way to promote the Mississippi Gulf Coast. The 2015 consortium partners are: Mississippi Power, Mississippi Development Authority, Beau Rivage Hotel & Resort-Fallen Oak, Harrah’s Gulf Coast, F.E.B. Distributing, Habitat for Humanity of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, Hard Rock Biloxi, Roy Anderson Corp, Hancock Bank, Yates Construction, IP Resort & Spa and Coca Cola. The tournament is administered through the MGRC Foundation, Inc. and will benefit Habitat for Humanity of the Mississippi Gulf Coast.
About the Champions Tour
Collectively, the Champions Tour has the most recognizable and accomplished players in the game, with many of its 32 members in the World Golf Hall of Fame competing regularly in its events. The Tour also counts numerous other major championship winners among its members. The Champions Tour is a membership organization of professional golfers age 50 and older. Conceived in 1980 as the Senior PGA Tour, it started with just four events and purses totaling $475,000. The Champions Tour's primary purpose is to provide financial opportunities for its players, entertain and inspire its fans, deliver substantial value to its partners, create outlets for volunteers to give back, protect the integrity of the game and generate significant charitable and economic impact in communities in which it plays. Points earned in official Charles Schwab Cup events in 2014 determined Bernhard Langer as the Charles Schwab Cup champion, the season-long competition designed to recognize the Champions Tour’s leading player. The Commissioner of the PGA TOUR is Tim Finchem. Greg McLaughlin is President of the Champions Tour. The PGA TOUR’s website is, the No. 1 site in golf, and the organization is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Follow the Champions Tour at and on Twitter @ChampionsTour.
About Fallen Oak 
The Tom Fazio-designed Fallen Oak epitomizes the quiet elegance found in many of the world’s great golf courses. Joining the heralded Shadow Creek as the only golf courses built exclusively for MGM Resorts International guests, Fallen Oak is located 15 minutes outside of Biloxi at the edge of the DeSoto National Forest. The 7,487-yard course has earned more than 32 national honors for a masterful design that features dramatic elevation changes rarely seen at a Gulf Coast course and five sets of tees intended to challenge golfers of all abilities. Since 2010, Fallen Oak has played host to the Champions Tour’s Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic. For more information on Fallen Oak, please visit
<< Back

You must be logged in to view this item.


This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.